My first day @ Google

Today was my first day at Google. I spent my first moments being in awe of that beautiful, sunny, green campus and it wasn’t long before I started feeling nurtured: free food, free bikes which you are welcome to use inside the campus, technical assistance whenever you need it, several ways to have fun while taking a break from the job (from billiards to ball pits to salsa lessons), people welcoming you and saying that they’re happy that you’ll be working with them, classes and labs so you can familiarize yourself with their infrastructure…I mean wow…wow. I didn’t know a place like this existed and I wouldn’t believe anyone had they told me so.

As a person, a simple ice cream from my grandparents was enough to win me, so I started thinking how can I possibly react to nurture of this magnitude. What is the “right” way of showing that yes, I do appreciate it? Then something occurred to me: sometimes I think too much, I overanalyze. So, I decided I should simply enjoy this while it lasts and never take it as granted, ’cause tomorrow I might be paying for my food again. I also decided that I will not surrender my soul to this company, in the sense that I won’t try to dedicate my entire day to Google even though I am thankful for the opportunity, even though everything in the campus is cool; there are other things that are as cool and equally important: my healthy development as a person, for instance.

So, that’s the contract I made with Google on my first day: Google will take care of me and I will do my best to develop as a Computer Scientist and as a person, so I can make a difference.

My first day @ Google

One thought on “My first day @ Google

  1. …and take over the world. That’s the other part of the implicit contract: you have to take over the world at some point during your internship, however briefly. Lemme know when… 🙂

Leave a Reply

